Singapore's Chinatown evolved around 1821 when the first Chinese junk arrived from Xiamen, Fujian province in China. The passengers, all men, set up home around the south of the Singapore River which is known today as Telok Ayer. Chinatown’s local name - Niu Che Shui (Bullock Cart Water) arose from the fact each household at that time had to collect fresh water from the wells in Ann Siang Hill and Spring Street, using bullock-drawn carts.
Although much of the shops have become more touristy, one can still capture some old architecture from the rows of shophouses. During the Chinese New Year and Mid Autumn Festival season, many Singaporean will flock through the streets of Chinatown to buy the festive goodies. It is will be an experience to soak in the buzz and atmosphere there!
CHINATOWN South Bridge Road
Courtesy picture & information from Vist Singapore and Singapore Tourism Board and Chinatown